blog tour, books, reviews

Blog Tour: Broken Screams – Sally Rigby

Scream all you want, no one can hear you….

When an attempted murder is linked to a string of unsolved sexual attacks, Detective Chief Inspector Whitney Walker is incensed. All those women who still have sleepless nights because the man who terrorises their dreams is still on the loose.

Calling on forensic psychologist Dr Georgina Cavendish to help, they follow the clues and are alarmed to discover the victims all had one thing in common. Their birthdays were on the 29th February. The same date as a female officer on Whitney’s team.

As the clock ticks down and they’re no nearer to finding the truth, can they stop the villain before he makes sure his next victim will never scream again.

Broken Screams is the twelfth book in the acclaimed Cavendish & Walker series and is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Helen H Durrant and Rachel McClean. 

Buy Links

Sally Rigby was born in Northampton, in the UK. She has always had the travel bug, and after living in both Manchester and London, eventually moved overseas. From 2001 she has lived with her family in New Zealand (apart from five years in Australia), which she considers to be the most beautiful place in the world.

After writing young adult fiction for many years, under a pen name, Sally decided to move into crime fiction. Her Cavendish & Walker series brings together two headstrong, and very different, women – DCI Whitney Walker, and forensic psychologist Dr Georgina Cavendish. Sally has a background in education, and has always loved crime fiction books, films and TV programmes. She has a particular fascination with the psychology of serial killers.

Facebook Instagram Twitter

My thoughts: Walker and Cavendish are back. This is easily one of my favourite series around and it’s all because of the excellent writing, the great characterisation and the way the crimes are handled, sensitively but not squeamishly.

A series of horrific rapes and an attempted murder come to Walker’s attention and her team uncover a strange connection between the victims – they’re all leap year babies – born on the 29th February. And then a woman is murdered – another leap year birthday. Is this the thing that the killer targets? And if so how does he know so much about his victims, stalking them till he gets them alone.

There’s a few false starts in finding the suspect – including one man who appears to have been set up, or is he the killer? Some forensic evidence points his way, but more points elsewhere. Would a sting operation help them or simply put an officer in danger?

Elsewhere Cavendish’s personal life takes centre stage and Walker has to make an important decision about her relationship with Martin. Lots to consider.

Another enjoyable case in Lenchester – a thankfully fictional town as I think the body count would put me off!

Click the image to follow the rest of the tour

*I was kindly gifted a copy of this book in exchange for taking part in the blog tour but all opinions remain my own.

1 thought on “Blog Tour: Broken Screams – Sally Rigby”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s