blog tour, books, reviews

Blog Tour: Cold Grave – Jenny O’Brien

It’s every parent’s worst nightmare…

Seventeen-year-old Bryony Lloyd’s father drops her off at a friend’s house to study – but when he returns to pick her up there’s no sign of her, and the woman who lives in the house swears she lives alone. Bryony has vanished into thin air, and her ‘friend’ doesn’t seem to exist.

DI Gaby Darin immediately sees similarities with another missing-persons case: seventeen-year-old Christy Taylor, who vanished without warning several months earlier. There’s nothing in the girls’ personal lives to suggest trouble at home – could someone have taken them both?

After a third case is linked, Gaby knows time is running out if she’s going to find Bryony and Christy alive. After going missing over a year ago, this girl’s just been found dead.

When a tragic accident means Gaby loses a vital member of her team, she distracts herself from her grief by throwing herself into finding the missing girls. Even if it means putting her whole career on the line…

A gripping and thrilling mystery for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel McLean and Cara Hunter. Cold Grave will have you hooked!

My thoughts: this was another really good book featuring Gaby and her team. This time they’re looking for missing teenage girls – bookish, clever but not particularly striking girls. The last ones you’d expect to run away. But then that might just be the point. Working with Manchester police, who have a similar case, the team gradually draw the net closer on their suspect, but time isn’t on their side.

A shocking tragedy derails Gaby slightly, she’s so caught up in her own emotional spiral that she’s not as focused as she should be. But between DCI Sherlock and Rusty, she’s reminded of the vital role in finding the missing girls that she plays.

I really like these books and so it’s a shame that this is currently the last one planned. Hopefully the author has something good coming up next.

*I was kindly gifted a copy of this book in exchange for taking part in the blog tour but all opinions remain my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s