Shortlist Announced for Theakston Old Peculiar Crime Novel of the Year

The shortlist has been revealed for the Crime Novel of the Year, to be awarded at the Harrogate Festival later this summer.

The six shortlisted books for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2021 are:

–  The Lantern Men by Elly Griffiths (Quercus, Quercus Fiction)

–  Three Hours by Rosamund Lupton (Penguin Random House UK, Viking)

–   The Last Crossing by Brian McGilloway (Little, Brown Book Group, Constable)

–   Death in the East by Abir Mukherjee (VINTAGE, Harvill Secker)

–  We Begin At The End by Chris Whitaker (Bonnier Books UK, Zaffre)

–  The Man on the Street by Trevor Wood (Quercus, Quercus Fiction)

The public are now invited to vote for the winner via and the winner will be announced on the opening night of Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, Thursday 22 July, and will receive £3,000, and a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakston Old Peculier.

Executive director of T&R Theakston, Simon Theakston, said“This is it: the crème de la crème of crime. This shortlist really does showcase the breadth and depth of the genre. It’s going to be a fiercely fought prize this year so make sure you vote for your favourite. Until then, I look forward to raising a glass of Old Peculier at the winner’s announcement on 22 July!”

I’ve read half of this list so I now need to read the other three so I can vote for my favourite!

**this post is comprised of my own words and extracts from a press release. I am sharing this as a book lover and received no incentive to post.**

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s